Apathy & Rhetoric

Introducing: Escape Reality Book Club

Leave a comment

Escape Reality Book Club

Hooray, a book club!

Brought to you by Niki, The Obsessive Bookseller, and me, the awesomeness behind Apathy and Rhetoric.

(Admit it, you’re shocked at my productivity.)

That’s right, Niki and I are hosting a book club. We actually did this a couple of years ago, but this time we both have blogs, and therefore, are taking it online so that awesome people like you can join in and share your input.  While both Niki and I love books for all ages, this books club is going to be only for Teen/Young Adult novels, preferably of the unrealistic variety.

Here’s how it works:

  • Each month one member gets to nominate about 5 books.
  • Everybody votes for their favorite. (Polls will be available here and at The Obsessive Bookseller.)
  • Once the winner is picked, we will read the book over the course of a (designated) week. (This is actually going to be a challenge for me because I usually only take a day or two to finish a book, but I’m going to force myself just for you because… )
  • During that week, Niki and I will be posting on Twitter with our spoiler free* comments, questions, and reactions. Everybody else who is reading the book–or has already read it–is welcome (and encouraged) to join in.
  • At the end of the week Niki and I will each post our own review of the book on our blogs, and all you  other bloggers out there will hopefully do the same.

Everybody gets the chance to participate by voting, reading, and tweeting. If you want a chance to be the one to make the nominations one month, then all you have to do is click here and go to the official Escape Reality Book Club Facebook page, and ask to join the group.

Here are January’s Nominations (Chosen by me!) 🙂

Defiance by C. J. Redwine

Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a  secret. While other girls sew dresses, host dinner parties, and obey their male Protectors, Rachel  knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to  return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector,  her father’s apprentice, Logan–the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the  same boy who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s  survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a  heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

Why I picked it: I’ve been looking for a good fantasy read, and the summary sounds exciting.

Last Dragonslayer

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde

In the good old days, magic was indispensable. But now magic is fading: Drain cleaner is cheaper than  a spell, and magic carpets are used for pizza delivery. Fifteen-year-old Jennifer Strange runs Kazam,  an employment agency for magicians—but it’s hard to stay in business when magic is drying up. And  then the visions start, predicting the death of the world’s last dragon at the hands of an unnamed  Dragonslayer. If the visions are true, everything will change for Kazam—and for Jennifer.

Why I picked it: Anything with Dragons has a 99% chance of being amazing.

abandon

Abandon by Meg Cabot

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at  once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always  watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you  back. But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe  she can stop feeling so afraid. Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how  desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly  heaven, yet she can’t stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it,  but exactly when she needs him most. But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find  herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

Why I picked it: I love Meg Cabot. I would have read this one sooner, but decided to wait until the trilogy was over so I wouldn’t be stuck waiting.

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Why I picked it: My friend Janae has been begging me to read this. She says it’s the best she’s read since Hunger Games.

Princess of the Silver Woods

Princess of the Silver Woods by Jessica Day George

When Petunia, the youngest of King Gregor’s twelve dancing daughters, is invited to visit an elderly friend in the neighboring country of Westfalin, she welcomes the change of scenery. But in order to reach Westfalin, Petunia must pass through a forest where strange two-legged wolves are rumored to exist. Wolves intent on redistributing the wealth of the noble citizens who have entered their territory. But the bandit-wolves prove more rakishly handsome than truly dangerous, and it’s not until Petunia reaches her destination that she realizes the kindly grandmother she has been summoned to visit is really an enemy bent on restoring an age-old curse. The stories of Red Riding Hood and Robin Hood get a twist as Petunia and her many sisters take on bandits, grannies, and the new King Under Stone to end their family curse once and for all.

Why I picked it: Jessica Day George is another great author. I picked this, but it wasn’t until Niki pointed out it was the third in a series that I realized I’ve read the first two books in the series (and loved them)! Don’t worry, you don’t need to read the first two books to know what is going on. Each book stands on its own.

Remember, you can vote here and then head over to The Obsessive Bookseller for an extra vote. 🙂

The winner will be announced, and reading will commence on Monday, January 20.

*I reserve the right to make predictions in my tweets, and cannot be blamed if those predictions become true and ruin the book for you.

Author: Apathy & Rhetoric

First and foremost, I hate being the center of attention and that includes having to talk or write about myself, which makes blogging seem like an odd choice, but I think I can make it work for me. I just keep telling myself that the chances of people actually reading my blog are slim to none. Other significant things about me: I am a graduate of Utah State University with a bachelors in English. Armed with this useless degree I went and got a job selling books. I admit, I love it. It allows me to indulge a major obsession in my life, which is reading. I also want to write a book (who doesn't), but am usually too lazy to sit down and write. (I blame apathy).

Leave a Reply

