Apathy & Rhetoric

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals for 2014

2 Comments

Image

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Goals for 2014

I’ll admit, this feature is one of the reasons I wanted to start a blog; however, I wasn’t quite sure what to write for this topic. First off, I don’t like posting personal things on the internet (I know, why have a blog, right?). Secondly, I don’t really like to do more than one or two goals at a time because, let’s be honest, it’s too much work keeping track of several goals. Not to mention the work of actually doing them.

In any case, I pushed myself and came up with a list of ten goals for this year, most of which have to do with this blog. (I tried to keep them simple in the hopes that I might actually do them).

  1. Start a blog. (Hooray! I’m done).
  2. Post at least one entry a month.***  (I’m ahead of schedule).
  3. Participate in Top Ten Tuesday (I am on fire!)
  4. Start my own weekly blog meme thingy called Writer’s Block Wednesday. (I know what you’re thinking, but I’ve already accomplished so much I think I will put this off until next week).
  5. Sit down and write at least once a week. (You’ll note I didn’t clarify what type of writing. Blog posts totally count, and maybe grocery lists too).
  6. Have outline of current story completed by Jan 31. (Ok, this one is going to require some real effort).
  7. Write and submit a short story to WOTF. (I stole this from my friend, Niki).
  8. Reread a series I love, but haven’t read in over two years. (I’m thinking something by David Eddings)
  9. Exercise at least once a week. (Or if not, discontinue gym membership).
  10. Do one thing outside my comfort zone. (I’m counting this blog post.)

 

Well, there you have it. What are your goals?

***The intention of this goal was more about longevity than about frequency. I wanted to make sure I kept working on the blog for at least a whole year, and didn’t just forget about it after a month or so. (Fingers crossed).

 

Author: Apathy & Rhetoric

First and foremost, I hate being the center of attention and that includes having to talk or write about myself, which makes blogging seem like an odd choice, but I think I can make it work for me. I just keep telling myself that the chances of people actually reading my blog are slim to none. Other significant things about me: I am a graduate of Utah State University with a bachelors in English. Armed with this useless degree I went and got a job selling books. I admit, I love it. It allows me to indulge a major obsession in my life, which is reading. I also want to write a book (who doesn't), but am usually too lazy to sit down and write. (I blame apathy).

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals for 2014

  1. This post made me actually laugh out loud – especially the “I’m ahead of schedule” part! I hope you hit your goals. They all sound realistic and kind of fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

